Blue Catfish
Blue Catfish have a forked tail and are very similar to the channel catfish. However, unlike other catfish, they prefer clean rivers with a fairly swift current flow. Blue catfish normally weigh about 20 to 40 pounds, but have been reported as large as 350 pounds! They can be found throughout the Mississippi River system.
Channel Catfish are the sleeker, more attractive version of the catfish. They are silvery gray to coppery brown with a white belly. Younger fish have small black spots that fade as they become adults. They have a deeply forked tail fin.
Channel Catfish
Cutthroat Trout The Cutthroat Trout was first seen by Meriwether Lewis on the journey westward, however, William Clark wrote the first detailed description of the fish. Because of this, Clark is referenced in the trout's scientific name, Oncorhynchus clarki. The "cutthroat" part of its common name comes from the red- to orange-colored slash on the underside of its lower jaw. The Cutthroat gets up to 18 inches long and lives about 7 years.
The Sauger fish looks very much like its brother the walleye, however it is smaller and exists in fewer numbers. You can tell the two apart by looking closely at the dorsal fin; the Sauger has a row of dark spots there. This fish usually only gets as large as two to three pounds, but it has a large mouth with many sharp teeth. Its common names are sand pike, ground pike, and spotfin pike. The Sauger is not a pike, however, it is actually a type of perch.
Goldeye The Goldeye fish varies from dark blue, blue-green on the back with the sides silvery and the belly white. They feed at night and eating a diet of insects, crustaceans, mollusks, fish, frogs and small animals (they are opportunistic foragers, eating nearly any organism they encounter). Goldeye are about 12 inches long when they are full-grown.
White Sturgeon are the largest freshwater fish in North America and can weigh over 1,500 pounds, and be 20 feet in length. They live in the deep pools of large rivers and over soft bottoms in the ocean. White Sturgeons are on the U.S. Endangered Species List. They are highly valued commercially for their caviar and meat, and also as a sport fish.
White Sturgeon
Eulachon The Eulachon (Thaleichtys pacificus) is a type of smelt. It is known as the "candlefish" because of its traditional use as a candle when dried and fitted with a wick. The genus name, Thaleichtys, is Greek for "rich fish" and refers to the high oil content of the Eulachon's flesh. They are small fish, up to 10 inches in length, and are blue-silver in color.
The Starry Flounder was first noted by the Expedition in March, 1806, at Fort Clatsop, Oregon. They have eyes on either their left or right side (not both). The eyed side is dark brown to black with blotches, and the blind side is white to creamy white and sometimes blotched. Starry Flounder are found throughout the eastern Pacific ocean. They feed on crabs, shrimps, worms, clams, and small fishes.
Starry Flounder
Steelhead Trout The marine version of this fish is known as Steelhead Trout and is metallic-blue in color above, silvery-white below, with small, black spots on the back, sides, and fins. The freshwater version, Rainbow Trout, have bigger spots and red bands on the sides. They are found from the Bering Sea to southern California. Steelhead Trout are on the Endangered Species List.
The Columbia River Chub was first noted by the Expedition on April 26, 1806, in the Columbia River, below the mouth of the Umatilla River, Washington.
No picture available.
Northern Squawfish The Northern Squawfish (Northern Pikeminnow) is a slender, pikelike fish, grayish-green in color. Spending its life in lakes, pools, and rivers of the Snake and Columbia River Basins of north, central, and southwest Idaho and northwest Montana, and in the Puget Sound rivers, and the Lake Washington, Columbia, Snake, and Willamette tributaries.
Mountain Suckers are bottom-dwelling, freshwater fish, normally no larger than 8 inches in length. They usually prefer cool, clear streams with clean rubble or sand bottoms, but are sometimes found in lakes. Mountain Suckers rely almost entirely on algae for food. They were found by Lewis and Clark just east of present-day Livingston, Park County, Montana, in July 1806. Mountain Sucker